About Charlottesville


Charlottesville is an independent city in the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is the county seat of Albemarle County, which surrounds the city, though the two are separated legal entities. Charlottesville has eighteen distinctive neighbourhoods. It is named after the British Queen Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz. Charlottesville is the heart of the Charlottesville metropolitan area, which includes Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene and Nelson counties.

Charlottesville was the home of two Presidents, Thomas Jefferson and James Monroe. While both served as Governor of Virignia, they lived in Charlottesville, and travelled to and from Richmond, along the 71-mile (114 km) historic ‘Three Notch’d Road’.

The University of Virginia (UVA), founded by Thomas Jefferson, is one of the original Public Ivies. It straddles the city’s southwestern border with Albemarle.

Charlottesville has one of the few UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the United State – Monticello. It is located 3 miles (4.8 km) southeast of the city, on a hilltop overlooking Charlottesville. Monticello attracts thousands of tourists every year.

Read more about Charlottesville